Extension Committee

About the Committee

The U of M Cook County Extension Committee is set by state statute as to committee membership, meetings, work that is done in the county.  A county must have an extension committee consisting of 9 members, 2 must be county commissioners appointed by the county board.  The county auditor or county auditor’s designee must also be appointed.  Six members will be at-large and appointed for up to two 3-year terms before leaving the board for at least one year.

Plan of Work

An annual plan of work shall be determined by the Extension Committee and consist of educational programs and services in the areas of agriculture, ag finance, economic development, nutrition, youth leadership development including 4-H programs, leadership and environmental and natural resources.

Extension work is coordinated by the Cook County Extension Director.

Regular Meetings

  • The Extension Committee in Cook County meets a minimum of 6 times per year.
  • The meetings are held at 1:30 p.m. on the 2nd Tuesday of the following months: January, March, May, July, September, November.

Committee Members

Garry Gamble, County Board
Frank Moe, County Board
Braidy Powers, County Auditor
Deb Benedict
Duane Hasegawa
Mary Routh
Kirstin vandenBerg
Tess Bailey
Virginia Reiner

See Also:
Cook County Extension Service


Diane Booth 
Extension Director 

U of M Master Gardeners -Active 
Sally Berg 
Diane Booth 
Janet Ditmanson 
Jessica Frost 
Duane Hasegawa 
Max Linehan 

Hillary Freeman 

Howard Abrahamson 
Joan Abrahamson 
Emma Bradley 
Nancy Daley 
Bernie Gestel 
Don Goodell 
Gan Mesenbring 
Patty Ratelle 

© 2017 Cook County Minnesota