About Cook County

Cook County is at the tip of Minnesota's Arrowhead region in the remote northeastern part of the state, stretching from the shores of Lake Superior to the US-Canada border. By land it borders Ontario, Canada to the north, and Lake County, MN to the west. To the south and east across Lake Superior it shares a water boundary with Michigan and Wisconsin.

The highest point in Minnesota, Eagle Mountain is 2,301 feet and the highest lake, Lake Abita at 2,048 feet are both located in Cook County.

Total Area: 3,339.72 sq mi – second largest county in Minnesota by total area

Total Area (Land): 1,450.60 sq mi (43.43%)

Total Area (Water): 1,889.11 sq mi (56.56%)


Federal Land Ownership: 662,586 Ac (69.73%)

State Land Ownership: 144,828 Ac (15.24%)

Private Land Ownership: 88,109 Ac (9.27%)


2010 Population: 5,176 (Approx. 3.6 people per square mile; the 5th least populous Minnesota County)

County Seat: City of Grand Marais

© 2018 Cook County Minnesota